The Olèrdola mountain has been a strategic enclave with settlements of varying intensity since the Bronze Age (just under 4,000 years ago) until the 20th century. Findings of a burial mound located near the current entrance area have arrived to us from the first settlers. At the beginning of the 1st century B.C. the Romans established a military camp. Almost a thousand years later, in the High Middle Ages, the fortified enclosure was once again inhabited. Olèrdola was “founded” at an indeterminate moment between 911 and 937 by Sunyer, Count of Barcelona, ​​who built a perimeter wall, the churches of Sant Miquel (inside the wall) and Santa Maria (outside the wall) and the castle. At the beginning of the 12th century, the decline of Olèrdola began and the displacement of the population towards the plain. The church of Sant Miquel was parish until 1884.